Join the Review Crew

If you love books then there is a good chance you will have read one or more of the books on this list.

We are always looking out for new reviewers, so if you want to contribute a review to the blog then please leave a comment below making sure you have entered your contact email so we can send you a message directly.

Some basic rules:

  1. Your review must include a reasonable description of the plot so the readers of the blog can get an idea about what to expect if they choose to pick up and read the book, but please don’t fill it with spoilers.
  2. We would love to know exactly what it was about the book you loved, hated or felt ambivalent about, so please include that in your review.   Feel free to write about the themes, motifs and any other literary aspects you found interesting, boring or irritating, we’d like to know about those too.
  3. Please proof-read and check your grammar before sending in the review.  Turn on your spell checker if it or typing errors are a weak spot for you.  We will check your review too, but it makes everyone’s life easier if you would do it first.  Thanks.
  4. External links to relevant material are welcome, but will be checked before publishing.
  5. If you have a personal blog then you will be linked to from 1001 Book Reviews, and of course will be fully credited for your work.

Please bear with us, we’re new at this collaborative blogging venture, and we may have a few wrinkles to iron out initially.

53 thoughts on “Join the Review Crew

  1. readlearnwrite January 23, 2012 / 11:03 am

    Ambitious project! I look forward to following your progress.

    • Ms Oh Waily January 23, 2012 / 1:03 pm

      Welcome,
      Indeed it is a challenge, but we are looking forward to it. So many good books to read, and share.
      I hope you enjoy the reviews.

  2. Hayley January 23, 2012 / 8:38 pm

    Hi guys, this blog looks awesome! I will review Dorian Gray as you’ve already asked me and I would also love to review The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood as I got it out of the library last week!
    Cheers
    Hayley

    • Ms Oh Waily January 23, 2012 / 8:57 pm

      Hi Hayley,
      Thanks for dropping by. I’ll mark you down for The Robber Bride.
      Looking forward to seeing the reviews. 🙂

  3. Ange February 13, 2012 / 8:42 am

    Hi team, I’ve been meaning to get in touch to say I’m currently reading Possession by A S Byatt (number 183 – I think – in the 1900s section), and am happy to review it for you? I’ve also read a few of the others so could do more if you like.
    Great concept 🙂

    • Ms Oh Waily February 13, 2012 / 10:15 am

      We would love to have you on board the Review Crew.
      I will make Possession as possessed by you. 😀
      I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

  4. Read.Learn.Write. February 17, 2012 / 11:51 am

    I wrote a review for The Trial by Franz Kafka. If you will contact me by email I can forward it to you for your consideration.

    • Ms Oh Waily February 17, 2012 / 4:43 pm

      That is a terrific offer. I have sent an email for you. 🙂

  5. Carrie February 17, 2012 / 1:27 pm

    I have a review for you finally. Can you let me know who to send it to?

    • inspirationalreads February 17, 2012 / 5:13 pm

      Hi Carrie

      Fantastic stuff! Can you please send it to 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com. Looking forward to reading it.

      Did you already have a review on here under Carriebee?

  6. riatarded February 18, 2012 / 3:21 pm

    This seems like such a fun project! Good luck guys!

    I would like to review book number 390. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick. I have been meaning to read it and I would love to review it!

    My email address is ….

    • Ms Oh Waily February 18, 2012 / 3:47 pm

      Welcome.
      It is turning out to be quite an adventure and we are meeting new people all the time because of it.
      We would be very happy to reserve Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? for you.
      The blog now has a new email address, so we can be contacted at 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com as well as by comment here.
      🙂

  7. Beth Parks Aronson March 5, 2012 / 11:23 am

    I’ve got several past reads reviewed on my blog (athough maybe without the extent of plot summary you would like in some cases). You can check them out and see if you want to use them. Also, I’m currently reading Nicholas Nickelby and Faces in the Water, and have about 35 more on schedule this year, many from non-American/British writers, so I’m happy to share those as well. My blog is at http://bethslistlove.wordpress.com

  8. Kara April 4, 2012 / 7:04 am

    I’ve got a review of The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath I’d be happy to share with you. I am also nearing the end of six-volume epic novel that is Marcel Proust’s In Search Of Lost Time and would be happy to give you a review when I’m done!

    • Ms Oh Waily April 5, 2012 / 9:02 pm

      Hi Kara,
      Thanks for visiting.
      We would love to see your reviews. There will be an email on it’s way to you shortly. 🙂

  9. Arukiyomi April 12, 2012 / 9:30 am

    if you’d be interested in having me on the team, please email me…

    • inspirationalreads April 12, 2012 / 3:26 pm

      You have mail 🙂

  10. Naomi Ferguson May 13, 2012 / 8:12 am

    Next time I read a book on this list I’ll be sure to send you a review. Great project – thanks.

    • Ms Oh Waily May 13, 2012 / 8:27 am

      Hi Naomi,
      Thanks for visiting and the offer of a future review. We are always happy to hear from new reviewers, it greatly adds to the diversity of opinion and style.
      😀

  11. Naomi Ferguson June 4, 2012 / 6:26 am

    Thanks! Just finished The Life of Pi by Yann Martel and have written a review for you to peruse but can’t seem to find anywhere to send it… my email ….

    • Ms Oh Waily June 4, 2012 / 8:32 am

      Hi Naomi,
      Thanks so much for the offer of a review. An email will be on the way to you shortly. 🙂

  12. Kyle Adams July 6, 2012 / 4:56 pm

    I am about to start reading The Count of Monte Cristo for my own blog, so I’d love to review it on this site. However, is it ok to post the review on my own blog as well?

    • Kyle Adams July 6, 2012 / 5:01 pm

      I can also review The Twilight Years before that as I’ve read it before. I can do the same with The Scarlet Letter and To Kill a Mockingbird if you’d like.

      • Ms Oh Waily July 6, 2012 / 5:12 pm

        Hi Kyle,
        Thank you for the offer of the reviews. An email will be on its way to you shortly. 😀

  13. Alyson of Bathe August 30, 2012 / 6:05 pm

    Hi there,

    I’ve been meaning to leave a message for a while. I’m actually also inching my way through this mammoth list and blogging as I go. I’d love to get involved on this site. You can find samples of my writing at my blog.

    Cheers,
    Alyson

    • inspirationalreads August 30, 2012 / 8:19 pm

      Alyson, thank you! Your offer is greatly appreciated. Just had a sneaky at your blog and am in awe! Love your style 🙂

      • alysonofbathe August 31, 2012 / 5:37 am

        Thank you kindly!
        Email me with details if you’re interested.

        Cheers!

  14. seanpaulmahoney September 22, 2012 / 12:49 pm

    Hello! My list of “I should really read that!” books is never-ending and I think this project is a fabulous way to get some of them checked off. And I’d love to read & review Ethan Fromme, Siddhartha and Go Tell it On the Mountain.

    • Ms Oh Waily September 22, 2012 / 3:37 pm

      Hi Sean.
      Thanks for stopping by and offering to join the Crew.
      We certainly would be interested in reviews of those books, an email will be on it’s way to you shortly. 😀

  15. Mikeyado December 8, 2012 / 5:12 am

    I have realised I wrote my reply in the wrong section!
    Again, I would like to review ‘On Beauty’ by Zadie Smith if I may.
    Thanks

    • Ms Oh Waily December 8, 2012 / 6:51 am

      Hi,
      Thanks for your offer of a review. An email will be on its way to you shortly. 😀

  16. angelicreader February 27, 2013 / 11:52 pm

    Hi,

    I would love to help out!

    whyicantstopreading(at)gmail(dot)com

    • inspirationalreads February 28, 2013 / 8:51 pm

      Thank you for your offer! Have a look around (if you haven’t already) and if there is a particular book or books you like to review, send us an email at 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com. We would love to have you on board 🙂

  17. jondayblog April 3, 2013 / 7:49 am

    Hi there,
    I would like to review some books for you. I’m in the midst of reading ‘Saturday’ by Ian McEwan and would like to give that a go :).

    • Ms Oh Waily April 3, 2013 / 8:01 am

      Hi !
      Thank you for your offer. We love to have new reviewers join the crew.
      An email will be on its way to you shortly. 😀

      • jondayblog April 25, 2013 / 7:33 pm

        Hi,
        I’m afraid I’ve received no email. I do have a review to submit. Please advise…

  18. J.Gi Federizo June 27, 2013 / 2:13 am

    I haven’t finished reading your list yet and so far, I have only read “The Color Purple” (so obviously I am missing a lot). But I’d like to write about it. I just have to reread every thing again. 🙂

    • J.Gi Federizo June 27, 2013 / 3:15 am

      I’ve seen three that I’ve read so far that I’d like to write about. Still going through the list.

      • Ms Oh Waily June 30, 2013 / 9:13 am

        Hi,
        Thanks for stopping by. We love to have new reviewers join us.
        Once you’ve decided which books you’d like to re-read and write about, just drop us an email here 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com and we will get things under way.
        🙂

        • J.Gi Federizo July 4, 2013 / 6:13 am

          Hello, Miss! Sent the email. Thank you so much! 🙂

  19. empressonclinton July 13, 2013 / 6:06 pm

    Well, hell, I was thinking of doing this same thing on my own but it was too daunting. Would love to join you – is there a word count I should stick to?

    • Ange - Tall, Short and Tiny July 23, 2013 / 8:37 am

      Hi! We would love for you to join us in the mammoth task – attempting it on your own would be very daunting indeed!
      Take a look around; when you’ve decided which book(s) you’d like to review, send us an email and we can go from there: 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com
      We don’t have a word count as such, but if you take a look at the reviews published so far, you’ll get an idea of the ideal length 🙂
      Looking forward to having you on board!

  20. Lizzie July 21, 2013 / 3:15 pm

    Hi
    I have recently read Women in love and am keen to do a review for it although I must admit it has been years since I have done a book review.

    • Ange - Tall, Short and Tiny July 23, 2013 / 8:43 am

      Hi Lizzie,
      Welcome! We’d love for you to join us on our reviewing quest. Take a look around, if you haven’t already done so, and you’ll see that our reviewers are all quite different in their styles, but all fantastic! When you’re ready to submit your review, or if you have any questions or concerns, please email us at 1001booksbeforeyoudie@gmail.com and we’ll go from there.
      Looking forward to having you on board!

  21. Wendy Barker September 3, 2014 / 3:09 pm

    I have some reviews of books that you don’t have reviews for yet. I don’t have a blog but I post reviews on BookCrossing and LibraryThing. Will that do?

  22. J November 11, 2014 / 6:13 am

    I will review #92, The God of Small Things

  23. Anna Brown October 4, 2016 / 4:16 pm

    I can review Half of a Yellow Sun, Remains of the Day, To Kill a Mockingbird, Lord of the Rings, Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, Dracula, and any Jane Austen reviews you’re missing!! I would love to be a part of this!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s